Hazardous Area Inspection

 Hazardous area inspection and maintenance should be according to BS 60079-17 standard.

Hazardous Area Inspection Types;

There are 2 types of Hazardous Area Inspection.

1. Initial Inspection

In order to ensure the correct type of protection is appropriate for the hazardous area installation, an initial inspection is required to enable a BS 60079-17 and detailed certificate should be issued.

2. Periodic Inspection

Periodic inspection needs to be carried out as part of the overall maintenance and applies to existing installations. The periodic inspection will identify any change and/or deterioration and should not exceed 2 years. Dependant on interval and requirements a BS 60079-17 visual or close inspection report would be issued.

Hazardous Area Inspection Grades:

There are 3 grades of Hazardous Area Inspection:

1. Visual Inspection

Visual inspection can be identified without the use of access equipment or tools, those defects, for example missing bolts, visible damage, missing tags etc. which will be apparent to the eye.

2. Close Inspection

Close inspection encompasses those aspects covered by a visual inspection, and in addition, identifies those defects, for instance loose bolts, which will be apparent only by the use of access equipment, and tools. Close inspections do not require the enclosure to be opened, or the equipment to be isolated.

3. Detailed Inspection

Detailed inspection will encompass those aspects covered by a close inspection and, in addition, identify those defects, such as loose connections, which will only be apparent by opening the enclosure. These inspections require the enclosure to be opened, equipment to be isolated and opening of cable glands, as per the BS60079-17 Inspection & Maintenance Standards.